2020 Festival

Fool Around Online 2020

Our suite of sweet digital and socially-distanced delights.

Laugh at your leisure with the first Play the Fool Festival 2-minute film competition, and check-out the talented acts we’ve researched to recommend in our Signal Boost Program.

Do you like your entertainment live, but at a distance? On Saturday Sept 26th, we’ve got you covered with a live performance of the Telethon-a-thon from The Calgary Clown Society, followed The Wise Fool, a film documentary about the life and work of Canadian clown-master Jan Henderson, then at live-stream of our annual, always fascinating Panel Discussion.

Can you spare a dime?

Play the Fool Festival is run by artists, for artists. Your donation will help us offer affordable, accessible programming into 2021.


Schedule – full Signal Boost lineup available here Sept 24th

Time-Specific Events

Saturday September 26th

All times Mountain Daylight Time (MDT)

2:00 pm: Live performance – The Telethon-a-thon (40 mins) – a part of the Signal Boost Program

3:00 pm: Documentary film screening – The Wise Fool (31 mins)

Ongoing from Sept 24th

Signal Boost Program – full list here Sept 24th


Signal Boost

Stay Tuned…

Coming Soon

Check back here on September 24th for more Play Around Online 2020 Signal Boost selections.

Play the Fool Short Film Competition

Free Films will be available here for on-demand viewing for at least one month.

Submissions for the first Play the Fool Festival Short Film Competition are now closed. The experts on our independent jury are now giggling their way through the films.

Films selected for screening and prize-winners will be posted right here on September 24th.

Signal Boost

The Telethon-a-thon

International cast
Calgary Clown Festival
Sep 26 2:00pm
40 mins PG 13 Free Included as part of our Signal Boost program.

The Calgary Clown Society

The Calgary Clown Society’s 88th annual telethon-a-thon. A fake fundraiser to support future fake fundraisers. more…

Live Stream: September 26 @ 2:00 p.m. MDT (1:00 p.m. PDT/4:00 p.m. EDT) Facebook Live Stream

Features an international cast, with performers from Edmonton, Calgary, U.K., and the U.S.A.

Check back here on Saturday Sept 26th for the link to this event.

Signal Boost

Circus-To-Go

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada/Treaty 6 Territory

“...perfectly debonaire...”

The Edmonton Journal

“...one of the funniest and entertaining shows we're ever had”

Marla Welk, Carlton Park
10-30 min all ages $50-$500 Included as part of our Signal Boost program. All bookings and fees directly through Circus-To-Go.

The Great Balanzo

Order a show like a pizza! Do you want a fast 10 min fire show or a  30 min circus comedy show?

An award-winning juggler who has performed in 13 countries around the world and is in Edmonton ready to perform for your socially distanced private event whatever it is. He’s entertained kids and families on YTV, at award-winning Children’s Festivals, and at hundreds of schools across Canada – it’s obvious why the Great Balanzo is one of the country’s top circus personalities.

Book Circus-To-Go
Headliner

The Wise Fool – a documentary by Geraldine Carr

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada/Treaty 6 Territory

“[this film makes me] have a crush on myself!”

Jan Henderson
Sep 26 3:00pm
31 min All Ages Free This is a one-time screening. Film will NOT be available for on-demand viewing.

Laughing is a Lifetime Achievement

Sooner or later everyone plays the fool. Meet Jan Henderson – director, educator, clown extraordinaire, saving the world one red nose at a time. For over 40 years Jan has led countless students on a magical, inspirational journey to release their inner clown waiting in the wings.  Hear Jan’s story and why she believes clowns emerge when the oft-cruel world needs them most, to entertain and gift their audiences with hope, truth, love and compassion. geraldinecarr.com

You can watch the film here, September 26 @ 3:00 p.m. MDT (2:00 p.m. PDT/5:00 p.m. EDT)

Headliner

Panel Discussion

Meredith Gordon - Squeeze The Clown
Sep 26 4:00pm
90 minutes Free Online A recording will be available online for at least 1 month following this live-streamed event. Live captioning will be available.

Culture, Identity and Clowning: A BIPoC Artist Conversation

Six (6) diverse Black, Indigenous, and Clowns of Colour from across North-America gather to talk about working in a white-dominated culture. Read about the panellists…

Live Stream: September 26 @ 4:00 p.m. MDT (3:00 p.m. PDT/6:00 p.m. EDT)

Check back here on Saturday 26 for the link to this event.